Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Project workspaces provide an online area to facilitate collaboration within delivery teams. Workspaces let you see your team members, coordinate and prioritize issues related to project delivery, share documents, and view invoicing data. Your clients also have the ability to login and collaborate with your team. This tab manages permissions and settings in a project workspace. To view project workspaces in action, see the Project Workspaces documentation.

This tab is reached by opening a project and selecting the Workspace tab.

Permissions and Settings

The following people can make changes on this tab:

  • Anyone with the cost center permission Maintain Projects and Engagements
  • Engagement manager, Project manager, and Can Act as PM users when the stage permission Configure Workspaces is enabled

In addition to the Engagement Manager and the Project Manager, additional users can be elevated to the status of Project Manager.

You can grant access to a workspace through the cost center permission Allow Access to Project Workspaces

Default workspace view and edit access permissions are determined by Engagement Type.

For team members to access Project Workspaces the following is required:

For client users to access Project Workspaces the following is required:


Permissions and Client Logins

This section governs access to the project workspace and what a user can do once logged in. 

Permission Sets

Before we get into the nuts and bolts of applying access permissions, let's first look at the high level concept of Permission Sets. A workspace is composed of four separate sections, Home, Issues, Invoices, and Documents. You can block users from accessing each area completely, only allow them to view the data, or allow them to view and update the area. 

These permissions are defined through the Permission Sets Editor. You can see an example permission set called Full Access in the screenshot below. If you have not yet defined your permission sets, then it is probably a good idea to visit the permission sets editor and review them.

The following screenshots show examples of the four project workspace areas. (click to enlarge)

Home

 

Issues


Documents


Invoices

Advanced Analytics






User Types

Each Permission set is applied to a group of users. The groups are predefined by Projector and cannot be changed/edited. Who comprises each group is explained in the table below.

User GroupsDescription
Engagement ManagerDefined on the Engagement Info Tab
Project ManagerDefined on the Project Info Tab. This includes anyone who can Act as PM
Booked Resources (Non-limited)Any resource who is currently booked to the project.
Booked Resources (Limited*)Any resource who is currently booked to the project.
Other Resources (Non-limited)Any active resource in your organization. Does not require any special permissions (view project, etc).
Other Resources (Limited*)This option was included for completeness, but is effectively non-funcitonal. Limited users are excluded from viewing accessing projects they don't have a role on. As of this time, that situation does not occur.
ClientsAny user with the Client flag set on their user profile. Client users are logins created for your clients. This allows them to log into Projector and collaborate with your team and view their invoices.
Cost Center UsersUsers with the cost center permission Access Project Workspaces
*LimitedA limited resource has their access to project information restricted. This is often used for sub-contractors to ensure they only see projects they are assigned to. It is enabled on a per user basis through the user editor.

Permissions Tab

Now that you know what permissions sets and user groups are, you a ready to start applying permissions. The default permissions are automatically populated based on the engagement type. To change them, choose a new Permission Set from the dropdown list. You can view the permission set details by clicking on the  icon.

 

Client Logins Tab

Add client users from this tab. Tick the Allow Project Access checkbox to allow them to login and view project workspaces. By default the permissions are inherited from the Permissions tab, but you can override this through the dropdown box. This might be necessary if you have two contacts at your client's company. One is a manager who provides input on the project. The other is their finance person who pays your invoices. You allow the PM to view project issues, but not invoices. Vice-versa for the finance manager. 


Removing a Client User

Unchecking the Allow Project Access box prevents access to the Workspace. If you want to completely remove the user from the list you have to delete their user account or mark them inactive.

If client users are associated with a specific client through the user editor, why isn't the clients tab prepopulated? How come I can add any user I want? We allow any client to be added in case you are using client levels. In these cases you may want a parent client user to access child client projects. This is also the reason we don't prepopulate the list.


Issues Management

Issues are utilized by project managers to assign and track project-level tickets as well as to coordinate issues with your client. Each issue is entered with a category and a priority, and is assigned an owner. Documents can be attached to the issue, and users can reference issue history.


Issue Categories

First define your issue categories.

 

ColumnDescription 
Name

Your users will choose this name when assigning a category to an issue.

Inactive An inactive issue is unavailable for new issues, or for moving a current issue to it. Existing issues remain unaffected.
DeleteRemove the issue. If there are any existing issues using this category, then it cannot be deleted. The category is marked inactive instead. If you really need to delete the issue then you should log into the project workspace and change all existing issues to a new category. Then delete.

Issue Status

Then define your Issue Status. Each status is an option for each category. A Closed issue 

Advanced Analytics Configuration

This section is only available if you have enabled the Advanced Analytics Module (AAM).

Add a tab for each dashboard or report you want to display.


ControlDescription
Tab NameWhen users view their project workspaces, they will see additional tabs. The name here is the name they will see in the user interface.
Allow access to

Tick the checkbox for each User Group granted access to this tab. If you are unfamiliar with user groups, see the User Groups section of this page.

Display from

ProjectorBI - see ProjectorBI Publish to Project Workspace

MS PowerBI - enter your Workspace ID, Report ID, and Filters. See MS Power BI for more information.

Other Compatible BI Tool - Enter the URL where your content is hosted.

All three choices support the following dynamic filter values.

Substitution Codes
{0} = Project Code
{1} = Engagement Code
{2} = Project Unique Identifier
{3} = Engagement Unique Identifier
{4} = Contract Line Item Code
{5} = Contract Line Item Unique Identifier
{6} = Client Number
{7} = Client Unique Identifier



Project Home Tab

The project home tab typically shows a short message about what this project is and a logo. Often the logo used is the client's. This gives a personalized feel for clients that do login to review issues or access their invoices.

Invoices Tab

The invoices tab displays all invoices for the project's engagement. You can display a message for the client here. 



Table of Contents
  • No labels