Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Additional Resources

Watch Resource Management Deep-dive webinar [go to 40:07] for a video demonstration of this functionality.

View the schedule for a resource.

Permissions and Settings

The following users can request resources:

  • Engagement and Project Managers with the stage permission Project Managers can Request Resources and the project is in an appropriate stage
  • Anyone with the cost center permission Request or Schedule Resources stage permission Users with Permissions can Request Resources and the project is in an appropriate stage

The following users can schedule resources:

  • Engagement and Project Managers with the stage permission Project Managers can Schedule Resources and the project is in an appropriate stage
  • Anyone with the cost center permission Request or Schedule Resources stage permission Users with Permissions can Schedule Resources and the project is in an appropriate stage



Request vs Schedule

In the blue control bar, you'll find a dropdown box where you can switch between Request and Schedule modes. 


Manage Roles

The following management options are available here:

Create

Click the +Add Roles... button. A modal popup is displayed. Projector supports four methods for role creation.


Using Role Types

Role Types are a predefined template to describe the department, title, cost center, location, resource type, skills, and keywords that should be used to fulfill this role.


Base on Existing Role

Make a copy of an existing role on this project.


Choose Specific Resource

If you know the resource you want assigned to this role, directly choose them with this option. 


Copy Roles From a Project

Search for an existing project and copy all ticked roles.


Delete

Tick the role checkboxes and choose Additional Actions | Delete Role. If you cannot delete a role then there is some type of audit history on it. For example, time was entered for it and transferred to another role. Set a role end date and discontinue future use.


Undelete

When you delete a role it isn't actually deleted. You can always restore it later. To do so follow these steps:

  1. Under the gear icon  choose Customize. Add the column Delete Role?
  2. Under the gear icon  choose Show deleted roles.
  3. Tick the checkboxes for roles you wish to undelete
  4. Click Additional Actions | Undelete role

Edit

Click on a role name or the drilldown icon . This will open the role where you can edit the following:

  • Resource Assignments
  • Schedule
  • Rates
  • User Defined Fields for the role
  • Notes



Assign

Click the Assign button to specify resources that can fulfill a role. In order for this option to be available only one role can ticked.

ColumnDescription
ResourceThe resource you would like to work this role
Acceptability %
Availability Match %
Availability Flex %
Billing Adjusted Margin



Edit Hours

Tick the checkboxes for all the roles you want to edit hours on. Then click Edit.

Cells with a line of dots are editable. 

You can right click for a host of fill options.

OptionDescription
Fill From (N weeks or days)Based on the number of currently selected cells, fill them
Fill Special

Set the percent or number of hours you want to set per cell, for a certain amount of time, within certain constraints

InsertInsert preceding cells, which will delay the schedule. Select multiple cells to delay longer.
DeleteRemove preceding cells, which will advance the schedule. Select multiple cells to delay longer.
ClearClear selected cells
ExtendInsert more cells to populate with hours
Set Scheduling ModeChange scheduling mode between weekly/daily




You can also copy/paste directly from Microsoft Excel into the grid. 


Schedule Legend

The below screenshot shows the meaning of the bars which fill the Schedule row.


Color Map

Click Show color map to see what different colors mean for your organization. Colors are set through the Scheduled Hours Color Map Editor.


Submit Reject Approve and Finalize


Submit

Once you are certain a role, or roles, are ready to be scheduled you submit them for approval. Roles you have been editing will be in the Request in Process status. You most likely want to plan all your roles and their hours, then submit everything at once for approval. 

The submit option is available when you are set As a Requester. Any role can be submitted, even roles that are already Scheduling Complete. Upon submission you'll be prompted to enter a note as well as which schedulers you wish to notify of the submission. Once submitted, the role changes to the status Scheduling in Process. It is then a scheduler's duty to approve and finalize the submission.


Approve

The request is booked as-is. Role status changes to Scheduling Complete.


Reject

The request is overwritten with what is currently booked. Role Status changes to Scheduling Complete.


Finalize

The request is partially filled. For example, not the exact hours requested or the exact resource requested. Role Status changes to Scheduling Complete.



Additional Actions

Under the Additional Actions dropdown you'll find the following choices.


ControlDescription
Notify Schedulers...Send an email notification to one or more schedulers.
Share scheduling with...

If a scheduler does not have permission to schedule a role on this project, you can share the role to them. Once shared, they'll be able to schedule. Useful when you need to do things like allow a UK resource manager to schedule their team on a USA project.

Route to...

Project Managers - Change a Scheduling in Process/Scheduling Complete role back to Request in Process

Schedulers - Change a Request in Process to Scheduling in Process

Swap resource...

Useful feature when a resource needs to come off a project. Transfer all their scheduled and hours and tasks to a new role.

Close out role...

If a resource is ending their work on a role, use this choice to keep them from entering time/expense after the specified date. Also clears future booked hours.

Delete role...Tick the role checkboxes and choose Additional Actions | Delete Role. If you cannot delete a role then there is some type of audit history on it. For example, time was entered for it and transferred to another role. Set a role end date and discontinue future use.
Undelete role...

When you delete a role it isn't actually deleted. You can always restore it later. To do so follow these steps:

  1. Under the gear icon  choose Customize. Add the column Delete Role?
  2. Under the gear icon  choose Show deleted roles.
  3. Tick the checkboxes for roles you wish to undelete
  4. Click Additional Actions | Undelete role



Table of Contents
  • No labels