Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

If you recall, a role represents demand for labor. A resource is assigned to a role and fulfills that demand. The role editor manages a number of aspects of roles including hours, providing visibility into availability, rate overrides, history and more. As all projects are fulfilled through roles, the role editor is a core piece of functionality in Projector. You will find that you can access it from many locations within the application and will use it frequently for making changes.

  • Role Info Tab set role description, start/end dates, and open request flag
  • Role Hours Tab edit requested hours, edit booked hours, view hours variance, and view hour breakdowns for analysis
  • Role Graph Tab visualize requested hours, booked hours, and resource workload
  • Role Requested Resource Tabrequest specific people or request people based on specific criteria to fulfill this role
  • Role Booked Resource Tabselect which resource should fulfill this role
  • Role Rates Tabview default rate and override billing rate or internal rates
  • Role Notes Tab communicate about this role with other project managers and schedulers
  • Role History Tabview historical changes in requested hours, booked hours, and assigned resources

The role editor can be accessed from the following areas in Projector:

Permissions and Settings

To view a role you must have permission to view the project it is on. You can view a project if:

As with projects, roles can be opened in View, Project Manager, or Scheduler modes. When in PM mode you are allowed to request hours. When in scheduler mode you are allowed to book hours. To open a role in an explicit mode, go to the project browser and right click the role's project. From the Open Project submenu, choose how you wish to view it. To view the mode you have a role currently opened in, please look at the window title. See the Project Browser documentation for more information about opening projects in specific modes.

Role Editor

The role editor is composed of a few informational areas and then eight subtabs. For an explanation of each subtab, please see the child pages section. The remaining fields are explained in this section.

Role Name

The role name is an identifier that is dependent on your organization. Some common naming schemas organizations use are:

Named AfterExample
TitleSr. Technical Consultant
NameTom Sherman
Work functionSQL Implementation

Planned or Booked Resource

The dropdown in the upper right tells you who is either preferred/assigned resource for this role is. If nobody has been assigned yet, it reads "unnamed." You can change the person by choosing someone else from the dropdown list. If you can't find the person in the dropdown list, then you first to need to add them from the Requested Resource or Booked Resource tabs. When you click on the dropdown list a grid shows you information about all the candidates. 

 

ColumnDescription
Name 
Employee IdA unique id for the employee. Defined in their resource profile.
Cost CenterThe resource's cost center. Defined in their resource profile.
LocationThe resource's location. Defined in their resource profile.
TitleThe resource's title. Defined in their resource profile.
BillableDisplays Yes if the billable checkbox is ticked in their resource profile.
Temporary

Displays Yes if the temporary checkbox is ticked in their resource profile.

Match %The resource's percentage of availability to fulfill the role hours exactly as requested. See the Requested Resource help page for a more detailed example of how this works.
Flex %The resource's percentage of availability to fulfill the role hours within the time period requested, but not necessarily with the exact requested schedule. See the Requested Resource help page for a more detailed example of how this works.

Notification Icons

You may see any of several notification icons when editing roles. If there are any rate overrides you will see a blue money icon. See the Rates Tab for more infomation.

If there are any unread notes you will see a yellow paper icon. See the Notes Tab for more information.

 

Roles that are overallocated show a red request flag in the lower right of the editor. An open request indicates that the role is awaiting a scheduler to accept, accept with modifications, or reject a request.

Roles that are overallocated show a red exclamation point. An overallocated role has more booked hours than the resource typically works.

Roles that are shared show a pair of blue arrows. Shares roles are set up between schedulers with different cost center permissions. See Booking Resources for more information.

Navigating Roles

If you open a project from the project editor, then you will see Next and Previous role buttons. These allow you to navigate between each role defined on the project without closing/reopening the editor.

Save

This dialog shows either an OK or Save button depending on how it is opened. If opened from the project editor, you only see the OK button. Your changes won't be saved until the project itself is saved. We implemented it this way so that project managers can experiment with role edits, and see those affect on project budgets, without having to commit to the changes. 

If you open the role editor from places like the resourcing dashboard, then you see the Save button. This immediately saves your changes. If you accidentally save, don't worry. You can always go to the history tab to review what was changed.

 


Table of Contents
  • No labels