Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Projector allows you to save a report to be run again later. This is useful for building a stable of customized reports built for your organization. These reports can be saved just for yourself, for everyone who can run reports, or shared with another Projector user. When you share a report with another user, you retain control of the definition. So any updates you make, they will also see.

Please note that Sharing and Distribution are different. Sharing a report puts the report's definition into a public area. Other users with appropriate permissions can then run the report. Distribution involves sending a report you actually ran to another user. A distributed report does not require any permissions by the recipient to view. See Report Wizard Distribution Tab for more information.

Additional Resources

You can learn more about Saving and Sharing Reports in Projector Web by watching this webinar August 2020 Release Overview. [Go to 33:20]

Permissions and Settings

Reports are saved to either a My Reports area or a Public Reports area. My Reports are just for an individual and Public Reports are for everyone. The location column of the reports tab shows you where a report is saved.

As long as you can run a report, you can save it to your My Reports area.

You can only save a report to the public reports area if you have the global permission Public Reports.

Shared reports do not elevate a user's privileges. If you can view information about a resource's internal cost, but the recipient cannot, the shared report will not have this data. This is different than distributed reports. Distributed reports use the report runner's permissions. Recipients may get access to data they wouldn't typically be able to access.

When you delete a shared report, it is also removed from all users it is shared to.

When you delete a distributed report, it is only deleted for you, not for any recipients.

Reports must have unique names.

Save or Share a New Report

The save/share dialog is reached by editing any existing report or creating a new report.

  1. Setup the report the way you want it by changing settings on the various tabs
  2. Click the Save As button in the bottom center of the report wizard
  3. From the following dialog choose one of three save locations described below

Save In Location

Description

My Reports

There is one My Reports location for each user. These reports are only viewable and editable by yourself.

Public Reports

There is one public location for the entire installation. Anyone who has permission to run reports will see it here. They will also be able to run it as long as they have permissions for that report type. For example, if you have permission to run Ginsu reports, then you can run all Ginsu reports saved to Public Reports.

Share to user

Reports you share with another user will appear in their My Reports area. These reports cannot be saved over by the recipient. If you make a change to the original, then the shared user will also see the changes. If you delete the original, it will also be deleted for the recipient.


Update an Existing Report

Open the existing report from the report browser. You cannot edit reports that have been shared to you.

Make your changes and click the Save button.

Limit Report Visibility

Public reports can be hidden from users based on their type and cost center. When you first save a report, select Public Reports from the dropdown, then click the Set Visibility button. 

Specify a User Type who will see this report. Optionally limit it to only resources from a specific cost center. You can potentially hide the report from yourself. If this occurs you won't be able to edit the report. You will need to ask someone who does have visibility to edit it for you.

If you need to review report visibility or edit report visibility, you will want to Save As the report and overwrite the original.

Target Reports

You can use the filters to tailor a report to the recipient or submitter. For example, you might create a performance analysis report that contains information about all your billable resources. When you share this report with those resources, you don't want them to see information about their co-workers. See the Filter Fields documentation to learn more.


Table of Contents
  • No labels